How do you measure success?

Leave a comment

November 27, 2012 by saltdogsducttape

I’ll admit I was apprehensive about this mornings workout. That’s nothing new really, since I started doing this workout routine I have been apprehensive many times. The first time I had to do 100 burpees for time there was a distinct feeling of dread; but I did it. So I got up this morning and did my workout.

This morning was as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) in 20 minutes of 25 push-ups, 50 sit-ups, and 75 air squats. While I didn’t do as many rounds as I would have liked, it didn’t kill me either.

While I was taking a break from work this morning I came across an interesting article. The article was about a Gallup poll that has been conducted for several years now. The poll asks people what is your ideal weight (with no reference to healthy weight), what do you weight now, and are you doing anything to get there? The average American man wants to weigh 185, while actually weighing 196. For women its 140 and 156. What’s shocking about these numbers is that both ideal weight and actual weight have increased over the years.

What this article really got me thinking about was, I have no idea how much I weigh. I know that at my heaviest, about five years ago, I was a little over 220. I was active at that weight, but running was slow and difficult, I had chronic knee pain, and generally felt uncomfortable and had low confidence. Since starting regular workouts and running, I am running faster than any other time (even when I was on the high school JV Cross Country team), I have no knee pain, and most of my pants are too big. I don’t know what I weighed when I started working out, and I don’t know what I weigh now.

One of the things that attracted me to CrossFit or high intensity interval training (HIIT) is that all measures are performance based. Measurements and appearance have little bearing on how fast you can do 100 burpees. If I had been asked to answer those survey questions, “how much do you weigh?” “I don’t know.” “What is your ideal weight?” “Ideally I’d like to increase my 5K speed and my vertical leap. How much should I weight to do that?”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

