Running away with it . . .

Leave a comment

December 4, 2012 by saltdogsducttape

I did a workout on Saturday that involved 200 air squats. A move that is similar to your standard, unweighted squat, but done with some pace. While I was certainly happy with my time, I did not realize that I would be struggling to walk for two days. After taking Sunday off I did a leg free workout on Monday. The workout was a standby that I do when I’m lacking motivation to find something else. It’s a standard 10 rounds of 10 push-ups, and 10 sit-ups.

To say that it was leg free is sort of a misnomer. I’ve been adding running to a lot of my workouts. Before yesterday’s workout I took the dogs for a pretty brisk warm-up run, just under two miles. Fortunately, while we live in an apartment, we are right on a bike path. This makes it much easier to take two dogs on a run without worrying about cars. Despite trying to run out the soreness and taking it easy on the legs in my workout, I woke up today with some soreness. What’s the best thing to do with sore legs?

Run five miles! The dogs had a great time and are sleeping soundly now, but I will be walking with difficulty for another few days. With that said, I’m pretty excited that I ran five miles. It’s the longest I’ve run in probably more than two years. It’s also the longest I’ve run in several years that wasn’t followed by significant knee pain. I’ve had to take steps one at a time in the past. In the past I was never much of a runner, it was never something I looked forward to or particularly enjoyed. One of the biggest benefits I’ve had from this workout routine has been the ability to run and actually enjoy it.

We had a delicious pizza night on Thursday and I never got to post the pictures. It was Adrienne’s favorite topping combination, feta, jalapeno, and pineapple. Don’t knock it until you try it, it has a little bit of everything. Don’t worry, I’ve already been chastised for the cheese shortage.

photo-24.JPG

Tonight for dinner we had a really great curry udon with broccoli. I’ve had a stuffed up nose all afternoon so the curry and a little extra sriracha sauce did the trick.

photo-23.JPG

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

archives

Work flow 
#patterns #cltcoffee #coffeeroaster #producer

Categories

