Tele turns and tacos

Leave a comment

January 23, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

Since moving to Montana, one of the things I’ve been wanting to try is backcountry skiing. Why not when you live on the edge of seemingly endless backcountry? Unfortunately it’s (another) expensive hobby. So when a friend says “I have an extra telemark set-up you can use for the season.” Of course I said “yes!” Who cares that I have never gone tele skiing. Who cares if I don’t have quads of steel.

To try this thing out we went to Blacktail Mountain in Lakeside, Montana. It was a long drive but the snow was good, there were no lift lines, and amazing views on a bluebird day. I’ll admit I was intimidated by the prospect of tele skiing, but I think that I did okay for a first timer. By the end of the day I was linking drop-kneed turns. Granted only a couple at a time before my legs went jelly, but still.

photo-5.jpg

That’s my first step toward the backcountry. I know I could get there on an AT set up, but something about tele (read: free) gear seems to be more natural. I also started reading some avalanche safety books and they are terrifying. We’ll see how far out of bounds I get this season.

The good news is my legs held up! Yeah I got tired, but I skied most of the day. I was thinking about it on my walk to work, and this is why I do CrossFit. There is criticism that CrossFit doesn’t make you great at any one thing, and I think that’s fair. I’ll never compete with a powerlifter or marathon runner, but that’s not what I’m interested in. I’m interested in being fit enough to do whatever comes up. Whether it’s having legs strong enough to make it through my first day dropping a knee or helping a friend lift a couch, CrossFit is about being ready.

We had some awesome tacos the other night, chipotle, black bean, and sweet potato. This is becoming one of my favorite combinations and the left overs are awesome in a breakfast scramble with some eggs.

photo (6)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

