Sometimes feeling good isn’t enough

Leave a comment

January 28, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

I’m feeling good. In an all around kind of way. I feel like I’ve noticeably lost some weight/gained some muscle mass. I am feeling good about doing the CrossFit WOD’s. I’m even looking forward to them. Ok some of them. All the body weight WODs I did before joining a box (gym) made a big difference. I have really enjoyed weightlifting again, which I haven’t done much of since high school football. I’m not going to say that I’m hooked yet, but so far so good.

photo (8).JPG
Just a dog totem pole.

Since starting CrossFit, we’ve been going to the 7:30 am class. There are some pros and cons to this. Pro, I can get to work on time. Con, Adrienne calls me “the meanest person in the world” every time I wake her up. Pro, I don’t have to workout after working all day. Con, I have to take the dogs out when it’s cold and dark. Pro, the class is really small, usually five people including us, so we get lots of attention and direction. Con, there is nowhere to hide.

The small classes have been good and bad. While the attention and instruction is good, when I can’t do a lift, everyone knows. When I finish last everyone knows. Being competitive by nature, I feel at times that I’m falling behind. The nature of CrossFit is that it’s intense and competitive. In a lot of ways that’s why it works for people and produces results. At the same time it can be easy to forget who you’re competing against, yourself, or everyone else in the room. At the end of the day your effort only affects one person.

We took it easy for dinner. Just put together some salads from the Good Food Store, our local natural food grocer. Of note however, we drank the last bottle of our Inversion Ale. It was one of our favorite brews to date. It turned out exactly how we wanted it and carbonated really well.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

