Happy with where I’m at

Leave a comment

March 11, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

Many people in the CrossFit community are taking place in the Open throughout the course of the next month. One of the cooler things about CrossFit is that anyone can make it to the sport’s biggest showcase, the Games, as long as you can make it through the Open. It consists of five workouts over the course of five weeks. The first one is below. I did not do it. I did a modified version.

17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

I think that most people can admit that this is a pretty extreme workout. In all honesty when I looked at it, and even the modified version, I said “Well, not gonna finish that one.” That’s O.K. though because I didn’t do as well as I wanted to, but I was flat on my back dripping in sweat when I was done. I know that while I don’t compete at the highest level and sometimes don’t live up to my own goals, I tried as hard as I possibly could to get there. That’s fine by me.

photo (11)

We don’t eat strikt Paleo, but for the most part we eat pretty clean. Mostly vegetables, Adrienne is a vegetarian. When I eat meat it is local and high quality. We do eat grains and bread, though not much, and we homebrew, so we have some beers from time to time. Every now and again we incorporate some Paleo meals, which isn’t difficult because it can be pretty delicious. Here is a recipe for cauliflower fried rice. It’s really easy and doesn’t take long at all, it has become one of my go to meals.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

