And the Games continue!

Leave a comment

March 25, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

The CrossFIt Open unveiled its third workout last week. The fact that it’s a repeat from last year doesn’t make it any easier. Last Friday I walked in to CrossFit Emergence thinking I would do another modified workout. Still tough, but not quite 13.3. I was wrong and had to get psyched up quick.

12 minute A.M.R.A.P

  • 150 Wallball shots (20 pound ball)
  • 90 Double-unders
  • 30 Muscle-ups

I made it though the 150 wallball shots, which is a WOD in and of itself, and managed to get a couple of double-unders. Before I started I decided to break it up into ten sets fo fifteen. Taking breaks after every set, even the early ones when I wasn’t feeling it yet, helped a lot. Just took some deep breaths and let the heart rate settle a little bit. Overall I’m happy with how I did. It might even be a WOD I come back to in a couple months, just to see how I’m progressing.

So what’s the best thing to do the day after you do 150 wallball shots? No, not a rest day. A day of backcountry skiing on the Idaho-Montana state line is a much better idea. It was a beautiful day, sunny and clear. There was fresh snow and one other car in the parking lot. It was going to be an awesome day!

Until I started up the skin track and my quads freaked out! A couple of miles of skinning, way to much vertical and a couple of powder laps later and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to walk the next day. I gotta say, it was absolutely worth it. Tomorrow will be a rest day though.

 photo (16) photo (17)

photo (15)

How do you say no to a day like this?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

archives

Work flow 
#patterns #cltcoffee #coffeeroaster #producer

Categories

