Practice makes better

Leave a comment

March 29, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

For those of you following the CrossFit Open, workout 13.4 was revealed on Wednesday. Today I gave it my best shot.

7 minute AMRAP:

  • 3 Clean and jerk
  • 3 Toes-to-bar
  • 6 Clean and jerk
  • 6 Toes-to-bar
  • 9 Clean and jerk
  • 9 Toes-to-bar

This is a timed workout. If you complete the round of 9, go on to 12. If you complete 12, go on to 15, etc. In an earlier post I had issues with my power clean form. It’s one of those things that only gets better with practice and coaching. Seeing potentially a lot of cleans, I got worried. I even got a souvenir from the toes-to-bar.

photo

CrossFit Emergence, unlike a lot of boxes, doesn’t have an intro or fundamentals class where you would go over technique with people of a similar skill level. Instead, each WOD has several different programming levels and everyone works together. It also means that at the beginning of each WOD with a lot of lifting, everyone in the class gets a refresher on the lifts and beginners get a little more attention.

At first I found this kind of irritating. I had a little experience with these lifts and I was getting better so things would just work themselves out. Today before we did 13.4 I took a little bit different approach. Instead of going through the motions with an empty bar, I asked some questions and asked for input on my form. That made all the difference in the world. Not only was my form better but I was able to lift more weight, more efficiently.

On my bike ride home I was reminded of a line form a Macklemore song. “The greats weren’t great because at birth they could paint. The great’s were great because they paint a lot.” There’s no substitute for practice and perseverance.

photo (1)Last night I made a caramelized onion and chipotle pizza. For the most part I eat clean food, vegetables, lean proteins, nuts and seeds, fruits. Pizza night is probably the only big cheat that I have, and this one was an awesome combination.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

