Back to fighting weight

2

April 10, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

I gotta say, I feel much better this Wednesday than I did last Wednesday. Many people have told me about Whole30 “Wait until day 9, it gets a lot better.” While I hate to be in the chorus line, they were all right. Just about everyday since day 3-4 I have been feeling better and better. Today was the first WOD that I didn’t feel fatigued from the word “GO!” That’s not to say that I didn’t end up panting on the floor at the end because I did.

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I don’t own or use a scale. Weight isn’t something I focus on and at the end of the day it has little to do with performance or fitness. At my heaviest I was close to 225 and I always assumed that I weigh around 200 now, that’s what my drivers license says. It was never a goal of Whole30 or CrossFit to lose weight, but I have been curious lately about how much I actually weigh. If I was still in Florida I would just go to Publix and hop on the big scale.

As chance would have it I was asked by a friend yesterday to be a dumby for his nursing school. I basically got a free check up. I was most interested in my BP and heart beat, it wasn’t long ago that I was taking medication for a heart condition. It seems that eating better and increasing my fitness level has improved that a lot. But I also weigh almost what I did in high school! I’m in a lot better shape than I was in high school too. I know I’m bragging a little bit, but it goes to show that when you focus on improving performance everything else will follow.

Before I started CrossFit, and I’m sure it applies to any performance based workout, all my exercise was focused on weight loss. That was a largely unsuccessful approach. When I lost weight I would scale back my workouts. When I gained weight I would ramp up workouts and usually end up burning out and giving up. Now that my focus is on improving my Oly lifts, faster burpees, and double unders there is no time to backslide after reaching a goal. It’s just time to set another goal.

Image

There was a buy one get one free sale on local, organic ground beef at the market this week. I bought two big family pack, divided them up to put it in the freezer for future use. I’m really liking these lettuce tacos. Some spicy groung beef with red cabbage slaw and avocado.

Image

Last week I also bought a slab of pork belly that has been curing. Looking forward to turning this into bacon this weekend!

2 thoughts on “Back to fighting weight

  1. Whaaa? Homemade bacon!? That seriously is my dream. Let me know how it goes, I really want to try that this summer!! And good work sticking with Whole30–I haven’t weighed myself in a long time but I know I am in way better shape than I was in high school or college. I actually was laughing to myself about being in better shape than Kate Moss (the supermodel) after seeing a pic of her in her form-fitting wedding dress with just a tiny belly pooch–couldn’t help but think, “Someone needs to cut back on the sugar!” 🙂

    • I’ve done it before with a sketchy cardboard box smoker and it was good. There’s a way to do it in the oven that I’m gonna try this time. I played sports in high school and college, but that was the extent of my exercise. It’s amazing what a difference 10 days without sugar can make! I almost lost it yesterday when the local ice cream shop released their nutella, coffee, and chocolate flavor though.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

