CrossFit goes Yoga

Leave a comment

April 11, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

One of the first steps I took towards fitness was yoga. I never adopted an intense practice, once a week for a couple of months. Even that short time helped to correct my knee issues and allowed me to run again. While Adrienne has spent a lot more time practicing yoga, it is something that I really enjoy. It seems like something that would be a good addition to a CrossFit routine. Turns out I’m not the only one.

About two months ago one of our fellow CrossFitters, who happens to be a yoga instructor, started offering classes once a week. I needed it today. This week we have done moderately heavy cleans and snatches. Both can be pretty taxing on your legs. Despite that, this morning I decided to take Hudson on a run. After the fourth step I realized it was a bad decision, but it was too late to turn back and disappoint the pup.

Spending an hour really stretching made all the difference. After CrossFit I usually spend a little time on mobility work but it doesn’t compare to this. Besides, after I do that mobility work after a WOD I ride my bike home, walk to work, walk home, ride my bike to the store, etc. My legs don’t get much of a rest. In short, adding a yoga practice to your fitness routine could make a big difference.

photo (26)

Everyone taking their place for some much needed yoga practice.

A quick Whole30 update. I just got the book, It Starts With Food, in the mail. Even though I’m almost half way through my Whole30 I’m excited to start reading it. Either way it’ll be useful the next time I do this. (There will be a next time) I’ve also started to notice how my taste buds have changed. At this point nearly all of the cravings are gone. I almost caved when Big Dipper Ice Cream released Endurance (Nutella and coffee ice cream with chocolate chips), but I made it. I’ve also been noticing that things that were bland a week ago have a lot of flavor now. Especially sweet things, strawberries, sweet potatoes, cherries. Amazing what a few days of no sugar can do.

photo (27)

I made a feast for dinner last night! Not really, but I don’t usually have a plate that looks this compartmentalized. It felt oddly formal. I made baked chicken, steamed cauliflower, add a baked sweet potato for dessert. I cooked the chicken in the oven, then heated a cast iron pan with some clarified butter to make the skin really crispy, topped with an arugula pesto sauce.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

archives

Work flow 
#patterns #cltcoffee #coffeeroaster #producer

Categories

