Adding Structure to CrossFit

Leave a comment

April 16, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

In the first three months of doing CrossFit a lot has happened. I’ve learned a lot both about fitness and exercise but also about my body and my abilities. One of the hallmarks of the CrossFit modality is constantly varied exercise.

This does a couple of things. First, the idea is that it will prepare you for any possibility. Training and a wide range of disciplines will make you highly adaptable. Second, it takes away any hiding places. If you are bad at something you will probably have to do it in a WOD sooner rather than later. Third, it makes it hard to pick one skill and give it focused attention if you are only doing the WODs.

At CrossFit Emergence, and I think at most boxes, we do skill work before the WOD for this exact reason. A lot of the movements that CrossFit uses take a lot of practice. This skill work is essential and was pointed out in an article “How To Go From Good To Great in CrossFit.” I am by no means an elite athlete and it’s not really my goal to be one, but I am interested in improvement.

What I’ve decided to do is pick a few problem areas that are holding me back or need improvement and spend time working on them after the WOD each day. I’m starting with the low hanging fruit. Here’s what I plan one working on, there will be some overlap but I plan on focusing on each area before moving on.

  • Double-unders
  • Core strength
  • Pull-ups (strict and kipping)
  • Handstands

I plan on starting with these and then adding a strength program. Before I started CrossFit I did no weightlifting so I’m still seeing strength increases without a dedicated strength program.

photo (28)

Over the weekend I made some bacon. Well not really bacon because it wasn’t smoked but baked in the oven, so it’s more like salt pork. It cooks and tastes very similar to bacon. Yesterday was a crazy day and I got back really late from work. I cut the salt pork into lardons, fried until crispy, added Kale and broccoli, on top of over easy eggs which added a really great saucy quality. 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

