Whole30: Day 17

Leave a comment

April 17, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

A quick side note before we get started. Starting a Whole30 at the beginning of a month makes the countdown that much easier.

More than half way through my first Whole30 and it is going much smoother than I expected. The first week was tough, no doubt there, but since Day 9 (everyone I’ve talked to says Day 9 is the magic one) things have been rolling a long. The groggy, not enough coffee feeling of the first week is long gone. Most of the cravings are gone. there was one particularly rough day at work where I could have gone for a beer but was able to resist.

In the first ten days I saw a noticeable physical change. Most of my clothes are now loose or baggy, and it’s pretty obvious that I’ve slimmed down. Since then there has been a bit of a plateau, which I honestly expected. Outside of a few exclusions, this wasn’t a radical change. It does go to show that making some small changes make a big difference given a little time.

Like a lot of people, I had a moment that I can point to where I decided that things needed to change. A couple years back, my brother gave me sweater for Christmas. I have never worn that sweater. I tried it on, took a deep breath, and worried about busting a seam. That was a bit of a wake up call. I was too embarrassed to return the gift so it has been hanging in the back of my closet for two years. Until today, when I wore it to work and not only does it fit, it’s a little loose.

photo (2)

Here in Montana we’re having a typical spring. Meaning last week it was almost 70* and this week it’s 30* and raining. One of my favorite meals on a cold day is sweet potato curry. This curry has sweet potatoes, zucchini, carrots, celery, and tomatoes.  I seared off some chicken and put it in the simmering pot, all served over some cauliflower rice.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

