Whole30: Day 19

Leave a comment

April 19, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

I’ll be the first to admit that a bad diet was part of the problem back in the day. During college I followed the standard diet of pizza and beer. I paid no attention to what I was eating or why I was eating it. Most of that changed after I moved to Vermont and became involved with the farming community there. Oh yeah, and Adrienne got me to eat vegetables.

That said, I think that Whole30 has made a big difference. It wasn’t a huge change so I haven’t seen major physical changes. I’ve PRd my dead lifts and power cleans this week, but I don’t know if that’s related. What I have gained and learned, is a better understanding of what I should be eating, what I shouldn’t, and why.

In addition to eating Whole30 approved, I have been reading the book “It Starts With Food” by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, founders of Whole9life. The book starts with a basic premis, food is either good for you, or bad for you. In ten more days, I’ll start adding things back to my diet (pancakes first), but this is something I think I can live by. And a little bit of “bad for you” isn’t that bad.

There are things that are worth it, sweet potato pie, good cheese, fresh biscuits. There are also things that aren’t. I’m not willing to trade that sweet potato pie once or twice a year for nachos every week. The truth is, I’ve been making a lot of bad food choices that I can easily change into good ones.

photo (29)

This was as pretty easy chili that I threw together last night. It has sweet potatoes, celery, zucchini, red peppers, salt port, and ground beef. My favorite part of it was cooking the sweet potatoes and salt pork together first. Sweet potatoes cooking in bacon is one of my favorite cooking smells, you should try it. The other favorite is vidalia onions cooking in butter. I was going to eat it with cauliflower rice, but decided to just have it with steamed cauliflower (I was lazy).

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

archives

Work flow 
#patterns #cltcoffee #coffeeroaster #producer

Categories

