Moving forward

2

May 8, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

After taking time last weekend to celebrate the end of my Whole 30 (cinnamon rolls, pizza, biscuits and gravy) I am back to eating (mostly)paleo. In the last week of Whole 30 I started feeling really good about it. I was feeling good physically and mentally. I was eating really good food and was feeling really good about all my food decisions. While all of the decadent, sugary, floury, beery, stuff last weekend was good. The stomach ache and food hangovers weren’t really worth it.

I don’t know if I will be strict paleo. I love homebrewing and good beer. Adrienne and I have also become quite the home pizza makers, I think we finally have our dough recipe dialed in. There are times when I want to make homemade cinnamon rolls or biscuits. I’m fine with all those things but those should be exceptions to my diet, not the rule. It’s just not worth it.

There are times when I think that we should add diet to the list of things not to talk about in a bar, along with politics and religion. This past month helped me become a lot more confident about my food choices. It became a lot easier for me to ask about what is in a dish, or tell people that I can’t(won’t) eat something and why. This lead to a couple of conversations about why I was doing this, an whether or not others should too.

The most common reaction was “Well I’m going to eat whatever I want because it makes me feel good.” OK, well does that work? It didn’t for me. I was overweight, had issues with overeating, had digestive issues, a mild heart condition, chronic joint pain, low energy, and probably other things I’m unaware of. I really enjoyed the food I was eating, but to what end?

My response was to compare you body to a bank, and food to money. You can make good investments, and bad investments. You can work to add more to the account, or do nothing and get nothing. Somethings pay a lot if interest, some don’t. If you work hard, and make good investments, you will have a decent retirement account. If you don’t, you’re going to be playing catch-up later in life. All I was doing was taking thirty days to make good investments. Going forward I will do my best to make more good investments than bad, and of course lots of CrossFit.

That’s what I got from my first Whole 30. I don’t know when, but I will do another one. Check back for updates on Adrienne’s first vegetarian Whole 30!

2 thoughts on “Moving forward

  1. Well said! I’m a week and a half into my first Whole30. It’s really not that different from how my boyfriend and I eat during the week, with the exception of no greek yogurt or salad dressings with sugar in them. It’s been tougher at restaurants with friends and family (no hash browns?!), but totally worth it. When I look back at those incidents, I realize eating those things – no matter how badly I wanted to – would not have been worth it.

    At ~120-125lbs I’m not really focusing on weight loss, though it would be wonderful to increase my lean muscle mass and decrease the softer padding leftover from an unathletic childhood. I think CrossFit’s helping a lot there, though. 🙂 Still, I’m definitely feeling far better overall. Can’t wait to see how I feel in 2.5 more weeks! I hope these habits stick with me after May. 🙂

    I like your bank analogy too. I told a friend that I was cutting out grains, dairy, and added sugar, and he said, “Wow, that’s basically my entire diet.” He suffers from a lot of joint/back pain, lethargy, insomnia, etc, and when I suggested that trying this might help with all of those things, he flat-out refused. “I’m not willing to cut those things out of my diet.” I get it – I love mac’n’cheese/beer/donuts/etc as much as the next person – but are they really worth feeling awful all the time?!

    Anyway, I digress. Congrats again on your successful Whole30. You and Claire inspired me to try it too – thanks! 🙂

    • Good for you! It gets way easy after day 9. My goal wasn’t weight loss either, honestly I decided to do it just to have something to write about. It has really made an impact on my food choices though. I haven’t felt “guilty” about eating junk food since it ended, I honestly haven’t wanted it.
      Glad your giving it a shot! You have support if you need it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

