Taking an unscheduled rest day

Leave a comment

July 30, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

This summer I have been training for a half marathon. My first and by far the most intensive training I have done since high school sports. I had never planned on becoming a distance runner, and I don’t know that I every will be. I certainly don’t look the part.

Adrienne has run several marathons and ran for the UNC club cross-country team. She was in charge of our training regime. Our typical week is; Tuesday, speed work; Wednesday, short recovery run; Thursday; race pace long run; Sunday, long run. In addition to CrossFit Monday, Wednesday, Friday. It’s a lot, I know.

So far I have been managing pretty well with a good bit of mobility work. Then after our long run on Sunday I tweaked my achilles tendon on me left ankle. After some rest and mobility work Monday I felt good, I even set a new back squat PR. Then during today’s run it started acting up again and I had to end it early.

It was pretty disappointing. I was really hoping to make it through this training without having any major setbacks. While this isn’t a huge injury, ice and rest should take care of it, it is a little bit of a wake up call. If I’m going to run 25-30 miles a week and CrossFit three days a week I need to make some changes. This also got me thinking about my training in general. On a daily basis am I training, competing, or testing?

This is an important question because we treat each one differently. Currently I am training for a half-marathon, CrossFit is part of that. At the end of a structured training routine, I will compete and test the results of that routine. If I’m going to make it to that point without further injury the I can’t “compete” at every WOD, and setting weightlifting PRs will have to take a back seat for a little while longer.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

