Old goals don’t die. . .

Leave a comment

September 23, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

. . .they become starting points for new goals.

Setting goals is a pretty common theme in the CrossFit community. Having achievable, measurable standards is an important way to stay motivated and to track improvement. A couple of months ago I wrote a post outlining some of my goals. Setting goals is great, but you have to revisit and reassess in order to stay on track.

This weekend I got to cross something off the list. I ran my first half marathon on Saturday. I ran cross country in high school because I broke my hand playing basketball and it was the only sport that didn’t require a hand. Despite that I never considered myself much of a runner. Before starting CrossFit I had serious knee pain while running due to carrying extra weight and bad mechanics.

While I don’t really consider myself a runner now, it feels good knowing that I met my goal. And relatively pain free at that!

photo

 

So what’s next? One of the big differences between Adrienne and me is that she loves running. It’s her thing, she runs for the sake of running. Me, not so much. I am looking forward to another half marathon though. While running is kind of a chore for me, I really enjoy the training. The structure of training runs and CrossFit feels good to me.

 

So now that I achieved that goal (half marathon in under two hours), it’s time to reassess and do it again. Look at my last performance, put together another training plan, set another goal and work towards it.

Are you working on any goals? Is it time to set some new ones?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

archives

Work flow 
#patterns #cltcoffee #coffeeroaster #producer

Categories

