The calm before the storm

Leave a comment

November 11, 2013 by saltdogsducttape

We are coming up on one of the best times of the year. The leaves change, the temperature cools, the food comes out. That’s right folks, the Eating Season is upon us. Thanksgiving (#saveturkeyday) and then Christmas have the big meals covered. Don’t you sleep on all the seasonal beers and perfect grilling weather either. I gotta say I’m excited. While we are going to try to eat healthy on those big meals (double meat, fill in the gaps with veggies) there are somethings that just can’t be avoided. Sweet potato pie, black beans and rice, and good whisky come to mind.

In short I plan on playing fast and loose with the paleo guidelines during the Eating Season. I’ll try, but I’m not making any promises. I’m planning on doing another Whole30 to start the year off on the right track and to refocus in the holiday aftermath. That all sounds good and reasonable right?

Here’s the problem, and something of a confession, I’ve been getting a headstart on Eating Season. A slice of pizza here, some chips and salsa there. Which as individual events aren’t a big deal but they don’t usually stay that way for me. What’s worse is I’ve been using the upcoming January Whole30 to justify all the snacks. I can do what I want now because I’ll just eat clean later.

Over the next two weeks I’m going to cut out the fat. Not really, fat is delicious. But I am going to refocus and eat a cleaner diet for the next two weeks until Thanksgiving (#saveturkeyday). It works out well because the next two weeks are filled with some intensive training and we all know that diet affects performance.

What are you looking forward to this Eating Season?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

archives

Categories

